Importance of being a Hipster

My mother constantly asks  Am I a hipster and what being a hipster means actually ? !! Belive me 2 years ago I didn’t know  who are Hipsters . Now, some of my friends are putting me into that group. I don’t really  consider myself as a Hipster. Yes, I wear skinny jeans and long V shape t-shirts, sunglasses, heats, all-stars, bags. And Yes,  I am a blogger. I can say I am fashionable, love loud music , festivals, concerts and underground music. But not really Indie music. I really never had  idea to put myself into that category.  I have been a raver and a clubber for ages, and I have my own style not created  with the deliberate intention  to be different from others. That’s just me !  But, in one moment people started categorizing me  and soon everybody who wears all-stars, smoke European cigarettes  and wear skinny jeans are totally Hip.

Fuck You people!!!  I am not any kind of hipster!!

Who are hipsters?  When did this global phenomenon started?   How and Why? 

Hipster  is a term frequently used to refer to a subculture of young, recently settled urban middle class adults and older teenagers.  Usage of the term reappeared in the 1990s and persists to the present. The subculture is associated with independent music, a varied non-mainstream fashion sensibility  and alternative lifestyles.  

The Hipster Handbook described hipsters as young people with mop top haircuts , swinging retro pocketbooks, talking on cell phones, smoking European cigarettes… in all-stars with a bio of Che Guevara sticking out of their bags. Lanham further describes hipsters as: You graduated from a liberal arts school whose football team hasn’t won a game since the Reagan administration and you have one Republican friend who you always describe as being your ‘one Republican friend.’ (I guess this context goes  to USA Hipsters)  

Origin? When? 

The term itself was coined during the jazz age, when hip emerged as an adjective to describe aficionados of the growing scene. Although the adjective’s exact origins are disputed, some say it was a derivative of  hop, a slang term for opium, while others believe it comes from the West African word hipi,” meaning to open one’s eyes “. Nevertheless, hip eventually acquired the common English suffix -ster (as in spinster and gangster), and hipster entered the language. 

totally Hip bicycles

How & Why this subculture started? 

HipsterMattic:  While mainstream society of the 2000s had been busying itself with reality television, dance music, and locating the whereabouts of Britney Spears’s underpants, an uprising was quietly and conscientiously taking place behind the scenes. Long-forgotten styles of clothing, beer, cigarettes and music were becoming popular again. Retro was cool, the environment was precious and old was the new ‘new’. Kids wanted to wear Sylvia Plath’s cardigans and Buddy Holly’s glasses — they revelled in the irony of making something so nerdy so cool. They wanted to live sustainably and eat organic gluten-free grains. Above all, they wanted to be recognised for being different — to diverge from the mainstream and carve a cultural niche all for themselves. For this new generation, style wasn’t something you could buy in a department store, it became something you found in a thrift shop, or, ideally, made yourself. The way to be cool wasn’t to look like a television star: it was to look like as though you’d never seen television.

(Information Via Wiki, OMG  I am totally mainstream)

Why Do people hate hipsters?  (Don’t take me wrong, I love subcultures, I am not hip but have nothing against it this is just an observation)

Lot of anti-hip blogs are on the web. I guess it’s cool to hate global phenomena which is actually turning into mainstream. I guess also, that lot of people find Them irritating, maybe because Their style or attitude. Also, because large amount of  Highfalutin.  Wanna be this , Wanna be that. Posering. Somehow Hipsters think They are cooler and much more arty then others.  Not mainstream, very retro and misunderstood in modern society with special ironic/sarcastic sense of humor. Everybody are artist this days, One  just need to buy good camera and turn on WordPress or Blogger.


        

Leave a Reply

