FEST 2012: Film Reviews part I

Hello there. Today I will talk about some films I have seen on International Film Festival in Belgrade.

I will start with first movie I watched. We need to talk about Kevin directed by Lynne Ramsay. Starring British actress Tilda Swinton as Eva, John C. Reilly as Franklin and Ezra Miller as Kevin. Location of the movie is in Stamford, Connecticut, United States. The movie is based on Lionel Shiver’s novel, published in 2003. The topic of the book is fictional school massacre. Written by the perspective of the killer’s mother Eva. The story is told in a first person as a series of letter from Eva to Her husband. The novel won Orange Prize in 2005.

Movie is very heavy and intense for watching. It’s a drama with touch of a thriller. It’s about one family, but accent is placed on relationship between Eva and Her son Kevin. Kevin is born as very intelligent sociopath, with very low sense of empathy. Relationship between Kevin and Eva is very complex and strange from the beginning of the movie. I recommend this movie.  Tilda Swinton played excellente role, in my opinion She is one of the best European actress. She is 51 years old today. I remember Her in  The Beach with Leonardo di Caprio. I have always admired Her talent and perfect fashion look. She is the queen of the Red carpet in Lanvin’s beautiful outfits. Also, Ezra played his role very good and convincingly. When I was watching this movie I had a  feeling that truly He is a complete lunatic. This movie has awesome critics.

Tilda Swinton the queen of the Red carpet

The second movie I have seen is The Iron Lady directed by Phyllida LLoyd. Starring Meryl Streep and Alexandra Roach as Margaret Thatcher. This is one more awesome role of British actress Meryl Streep. She got many awards for it, as: Golden Globes, the Baftas and Academy Awards. It’s one of the best movies on FEST this year I am sure. I recommend it very much. Movie is a life story of  the British Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher, who was longest-serving British Prime Minister (1979-1990)  of the 20th century. The movie goes retrospective, from Her nursing days when She got senile until the start of Her political career.

The third movie is A Dangerous Method, directed by David Cronenberg. Starring Viggo Mortensen, Michael Fassbender, Keira Knightly and Vincent Cassel.  This is story about Jung, Freud and Sabina Spielrein  and  also about  the beginnings of  psycho therapy method. I must say that I expected more from this movie. I find it very superficial. The story is too much gossiping, the relationship between Freud and Jung  and their cooperation is not very well done. Also, the movie is quite boring and doesn’t catch enough attention of the viewer. The topic is good, but this movie should be much better.

 

Leave a Reply

